hosted by DiaryLand.com

Sela el Telak
Matrix reviewed
2003-05-15, 9:42 a.m.

If you haven't seen the Matrix yet...you might not want to read this, as it is my review of the movie.

Ok, so like a movie geek I went and saw the advanced screening so I could avoid the opening day crowd that would inevitable ruin the experience...here's my opinion on the movie.

While the second installment does hold my interest, it seemed to be lacking a storyline. Much like other three part movies this particular one seemed to be the filler until we get to the final one. It's strength was the fight scenes which were fast, and full of action. They didn't rely on the slow-mo as much and that was a good thing. The acting was decent, although a bit unemotional at times. The begining started out well, it slowed a bit, then it picked up at the end...I can say I was not expecting it to end as it did. There was one scene in which Morpheus was addressing the legions of Zion in the matter of the impending attack from the sentinals...it reminded me of the movie The Ten Commandments, when Moses addresses the crowd of sinners. Then it turns into a big rave-like orgy and you get to see Carrie-Anne Moss naked...good times. I really can't bring myself to tell you what happens, but lets just say someone important dies, and the end has a wacky twist that makes perfect sense. I love that these people quote Kant.

So I did like the movie...but from a critical perspective it could have been better...I give it 3.5 stars and I would be willing to go see it again.

back - to the future

My wish list for 2007 - 2006-12-29
blueberry pancakes are lovely - 2006-12-17
karma may be dead, but irony isn't - 2006-11-11
I lived, I learned, it didn't help - 2006-09-09
valium please - 2005-09-01