hosted by DiaryLand.com

Sela el Telak
Parenting for dummies
2003-07-20, 8:44 a.m.

I have a sudden urge to maroon myself upon a deserted island, and then I remember that I'm allergic to seafood and coconuts so it would never work out.

My parents have gone all looney again and are acting as if they were 12 years old, and by that I mean they are making strange requests, treating my brother like a hired servant, and being more selfish than a previously poor struggling actor that has just made it big and expects everyone to do as they wish. I hate it when they get like this, there's just no dealing with them. It is also a horrible thing to subject my brother to, for now if he should ever have the fortune to sleep with a girl and have children he shall have absolutly no concept of how to sanely raise children, my only hope is that I didn't realize they were bonkers until I was 9 or so and by that time already had aquired quite a bit of common sense about how this just wasn't normal parenting and whatnot. I think I should write a book on what not to do as a parent, and give it to them anonymously in the mail. For example...

1. Do not send your children to private catholic schools unless you want them to reject religion.

2. Do not give them a huge sense of self worth, and tell them they can be whatever they want to be, and then expect them to act like a common maid when you know damn well they hate to clean up after others.

3. Do not ask to speak to them when you are going to the bathroom, that is what bathroom doors are for...to keep you and the rest of the world seperate when you pee.

4. Chasing a person around the yard with a stick, with the intention of whacking them with it, is no way to convince your daughter of anything.

5. Screaming irrational babble is not going to win you any debates, everyone knows that guilt is the only truly effective parenting tool to get children to do what you want.

I've got loads more advice for raising children...not that I myself want them any time soon.

***DISCLAIMER***I really do love my parents, don't think otherwise, it's just that I'm to an age where I should no longer see them everyday, and so we argue about things and it is just frustrating most of the time on both parts, so I take my frustrations out in here so I don't take them out on my parents.

back - to the future

My wish list for 2007 - 2006-12-29
blueberry pancakes are lovely - 2006-12-17
karma may be dead, but irony isn't - 2006-11-11
I lived, I learned, it didn't help - 2006-09-09
valium please - 2005-09-01