hosted by DiaryLand.com

Sela el Telak
everything tastes better on a stick
2003-08-25, 10:53 p.m.

I skipped my first day back at school to work at the State Fair for Home Depot. The lines of children and parents were endless. So many people kept asking just for aprons to send to children that weren't present and they would get huffy when we informed them that we don't give out aprons unless the child was there. It was kinda funny now that I think back, now that there aren't children surrounding me...maternal I'm not. I must've written close to 1000 names on little orange aprons today. We had around 2000 kids do the workshop and me and Sarah quickly volunteered to write names so that our fingers wouldn't enter the danger zone...small children + hammers = pain. Apparently the aprons are also venturing out into a fashion trend for Minneapolis teenagers...hordes of them decided to come get aprons and wear them as "tops" "shirts" whatever, it made me chuckle.

After the morning session I was informed I must walk in a parade for Home Depot...what the hell? I just felt dumb cause I didn't get why Home Depot was in the parade. But I smiled till it hurt and waved a blue cross blue shield flag at everyone until we finally stopped...me and parades are not on friendly terms.

After work was finally done I gave in to temptation and went on a "food on a stick" spree. I ate the standard corn dog and then I got a gator on a stick (alligator tastes a lot like chicken) afterwards I searched until I found the deep friend candy bar stand and grabbed myself a 3 musketeers bar deep fried to perfection and coated in powdered sugar all slapped on a little plastic stick...good times.

I start my last semester at NHCC tomorrow...I can't wait!

back - to the future

My wish list for 2007 - 2006-12-29
blueberry pancakes are lovely - 2006-12-17
karma may be dead, but irony isn't - 2006-11-11
I lived, I learned, it didn't help - 2006-09-09
valium please - 2005-09-01