hosted by DiaryLand.com

Sela el Telak
I know my job...do you know yours?
2003-11-30, 10:24 a.m.

I think the world would be a much better place if people wouldn't make as many assumptions as they do. It would be better if people in positions of power didn't typecast people, which you do subconsciously, because if they judge you on one of your bad days then you're screwed forever. Everyone is at some point in time a victem of misjudgement, however few people remember what it is like to be unfairly labeled and so when it is their turn to be the ones whose opinions count they rarely show class. Now it is not that I really have a problem with authority, it is more that I have a problem with stupidity. If I feel that someone in a position over me is asking me to do something that makes no sense and therefor is making that person look stupid I just find it very difficult to follow that particular instruction, if it happens often that I am being asked to do pointless tasks I lose respect for these people, if they had any in the first place. People, no matter who they are, need to earn my respect and maintain it. The president doesn't have my respect (not that I'm sure he cares or anything) so why do people I interact with everyday think they are entitled to it? People need to learn social skills, especially if they are going to have to work in a social enviroment. Part of social skills is putting personal opinions and preferrences aside. I have seen many unfair things at work, and I know it is true that if the managers get a bad opinion of you, even if it is unfairly gotten, then you are basically screwed until you quit. It has happened at every job I've ever worked at. Managers don't like to be questioned, but that doesn't mean they shouldn't be. Just because they are a manager doesn't mean they know what the sitiation was or what was going on before they walked up...and if you don't know and you come up and start spouting off it makes you look like an ass and people don't like working under people who are dumbasses. Most of the discontent at many jobs stem from the feelings of injustice by the workers. There has got to be a solution to this because I've seen too many great employees quit because managers and higher-ups don't feel they are entitled to respect. Just because an employee doesn't say "how high" when you ask them to jump it doesn't mean they aren't really good at their job. There is a lot of work to do and no one is going to be able to help every customer or get everything done all the time...we're not perfect and managers need to remember that, so get both sides to every story before you judge.

back - to the future

My wish list for 2007 - 2006-12-29
blueberry pancakes are lovely - 2006-12-17
karma may be dead, but irony isn't - 2006-11-11
I lived, I learned, it didn't help - 2006-09-09
valium please - 2005-09-01