hosted by DiaryLand.com

Sela el Telak
ok I need opinions
2003-12-30, 10:52 p.m.

Ok here is my college application essay I need to know if it is too cynical before I send it in. Opinions are very welcome.....

The topic is this

Mahatma Gandhi said, "We must become the change we want to see in the world." Reflect on your world and your place within it. Discuss how you have changed or plan to effect change within that world.

Here is my response.....

Gandhi said many profound statements in his years on this planet. Yet for all his words, not much has changed overall. The world I live in is not one I'm very fond of. The people around me, the strangers I meet everyday, are self-absorbed drones. They dress how advertisements tell them to, and they listen to what the media tells them to, they over-eat, and you can not have an intelligent conversation with them unless you are discussing the latest episode of The Simple Life. These are not bad people; they are just products of our society. I do not really have a place in that world. I don't care for designer brands or the hottest new music. I prefer fruit to fries, and I still have not found someone to have a philosophical discussion with. My only hope, therefore, is to effect a change in the people around me, or to find new people to associate with.

My main goal is to find a way to reach through the thick layer of apathy that develops in people early on, and lessen it. With each generation the concepts of family, loyalty, and decency fade. I don�t want to go back to three generations crammed in one house with no technology, but I would like to see my society become more united. Movies are an easy way to communicate with people. They are a non-threatening way to voice ideals, and allow people to come to their own conclusions about issues. Through movies I have come to think about life issues. In "It's a Wonderful Life" I realized that everyone has an effect on other people, so we shouldn't just concentrate on our own lives. From other movies I have learned not to grow up too fast, to put the needs of loved ones before my own, and to use sarcasm to my advantage whenever possible. My hope is that through directing movies I can reach many people on a deeper level. Even if I cannot get through to everyone, maybe I can get through to a few people. I still believe that most people are good people; they�ve just gotten a bit preoccupied. I want them to wake-up. I want them to start taking responsibility. At some point in time common sense was lost, maybe when the lady sued McDonalds over the hot coffee. If I could reinstate common sense, and respect, then I can die feeling as though I have accomplished something.

In everything I do, I try to show class. Every action has consequences, and whatever you do affects other people as well. Things must be earned, not handed to you, and I want people to remember that. I want to remind people how beautiful this world can be, how wonderful it is to share a special connection with someone else. I want people to fall in love and recycle. I want unnecessary wars to end, and new ones prevented. I want mankind to stop trying to destroy itself with weapons, and viruses, and drugs. Idealistic, I know, but I�m sick of all the hatred and anger and apathy abundant in the world. I am only one person, I know I can�t help everyone that is above anyone but I still want to try. I want my voice to be heard, if only for a moment, but in that moment I want to shake people up and maybe, if I am lucky, make them see that the world can be better if only they will let it.

back - to the future

My wish list for 2007 - 2006-12-29
blueberry pancakes are lovely - 2006-12-17
karma may be dead, but irony isn't - 2006-11-11
I lived, I learned, it didn't help - 2006-09-09
valium please - 2005-09-01